AB 243 Advanced Out of Judiciary & AB 293 Advanced Out of Water, Parks & Wildlife  

SACRAMENTO – Assemblymember Juan Alanis secured unanimous support for his third public safety focused bill and his first veterans focused bill of the year. They are Alanis’ 3rd and 4th bills to clear committee in this legislative session.

AB 243 (Child abduction survivors: address confidentiality program) passed out of the Assembly Committee on the Judiciary today by a unanimous vote of 11-0. This proposal will expand current law to include victims of child abduction to the list of populations who are eligible for California’s Safe at Home address confidentiality program.

“I am proud AB 243 is yet another bill I have introduced this year which has received early bipartisan & bicameral support,” said Assemblymember Juan Alanis. “Should this bill be signed into law California would become the eighth state to enact a similar proposal that allows victims of child abduction to change the name and address that appears on all public records.”

AB 293 (Lifetime hunting and sport fishing licenses: Gold Star Family Members) passed out of the Assembly Committee for Water, Parks and Wildlife today by a unanimous vote of 14-0. This proposal would provide free lifetime hunting and sport fishing licenses to immediate family members of military service members who were killed by enemy action in an active warzone.

“California has set a long precedent of leading the way in honoring our state’s fallen heroes.” added Assemblymember Alanis. “This exemption would do more than just honor service members, and their family, who have fallen in the line of duty; it would help provide additional access to healing and therapeutic outdoor activities like sport fishing and hunting.”  

AB 243 and AB 293 will be heard in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations later this year before going before the full State Assembly for consideration.


Assemblymember Juan Alanis represents the 22nd Assembly District, which includes the communities of Modesto, Turlock, Ceres, Denair, Patterson, Gustine, Newman, Hilmar, Ballico, Snelling, Keyes, Grayson, Crows Landing, Diablo Grande, Stevinson, & Empire.